Founded in 2011, the Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers (CARL) serves as an informed national voice on refugee law and the human rights of refugees and forced migrants, and promotes just and consistent practices in the treatment of refugees in Canada. CARL carries out its work promoting the human rights of refugees in the courts, before parliamentary committees, in the media, among its membership via bi-annual conferences, and elsewhere in the public sphere.

CARL’s membership includes over 400 lawyers, academics and law students from across Canada. Relying on the broad experience of this membership, CARL has a mandate to research, litigate and advocate on refugee rights, forced migrants and related issues. CARL recognizes that climate change is a major contributor to forced migration.

CARL is a non-profit, non-partisan organization.

Fondée en 2011, l’Association canadienne des avocats et avocates en droit des réfugiés (ACAADR) agit à titre de voix nationale informée sur les réfugiés et les droits humains et promeut le traitement juste des réfugiés au Canada. L’ACAADR fait la promotion des droits humains des réfugiés devant les tribunaux, des comités parlementaires, dans les médias et au sein de ses membres par l’entremise de conférences bi-annuelles.

L’ACAADR inclut plus de 400 avocats, juristes et étudiants en droit à travers le Canada. Se fiant sur la grande expérience de ses membres, l’ACAADR possède le mandat d’effectuer de la recherche, d’intervenir judiciairement et de défendre les droits des réfugiés ainsi que des enjeux connexes.

L’ACAADR est une organisation sans but lucratif et non partisane.

CARL is directed by a National Executive Committee that includes refugee lawyers and academics from across Canada. Current members of the CARL Executive are:

L’ACAADR est dirigée par douze personnes incluant des avocats et juristes spécialisés en droit des réfugiés provenant de partout à travers le Canada. Les membres actuels de l’exécutif de l’ACAADR sont:

  • Aviva Basman – President
  • Anthony Navaneelan – Vice President
  • Lorne Waldman – Past President
  • Mitchell Goldberg – Past President
  • Maureen Silcoff – Past President
  • Kate Webster
  • Erin Simpson
  • Heather Neufeld
  • Andrew Brouwer
  • Amanda Aziz – Secretary
  • Warda Shazadi Meighen
  • Coline Bellefleur
  • Steven Blakey
  • Suzanne Taffot
  • Lily Tekle – Treasurer
  • Shauna Labman
  • Nichloas Hersh