CARL’S FALL 2021 HALF-DAY NATIONAL CONFERENCE | CONFÉRENCE NATIONALE 2021 de l’ACAADR

Held: Wednesday, 27 October 2021 | Mercredi, le 27 octobre 2021

**Note: Conference recording now available:

Conference registrants have received the password to access the above items in the registration confirmation email that they received after registering. Registration remains available here, and any new registrants will receive the access password following registration.

The Canadian Association of Refugee Lawyers (CARL) welcomes you to join us at our fall 2021 half-day National Conference. In light of COVID-19 and the reality of Zoom fatigue, we are not yet returning to our usual full-day conference.

The Conference will include the following topics and presentations:

  • A keynote address by the Honourable Justice Lobat Sadrehashemi
  • A Practitioner’s Guide to the Mandatory-Hearing PRRA Process
  • Where removal proceedings and refugee law meet family and child protection law
  • The U.S. – Canada border and direct-backs of refugee claimant

The full agenda is below.

L’association canadienne des avocats et avocates en droit des réfugiés (ACAADR) vous invite à la Conférence nationale de l’Automne 2021. Étant donné la COVID-19 et la fatigue réelle liée à l’utilisation de Zoom, notre conférence ne s’étendra pas sur toute la journée comme par le passé

La conférence comprendra les sujets et présentations suivants :

  • Un discours d’ouverture par l’honorable juge Lobat Sadrehashemi
  • Une présentation du guide du praticien sur les demandes d’ERAR et les audiences obligatoires
  • Une présentation sur procédures de renvoi et le droit des réfugiés et l’impact sur le droit de la famille et de la protection de l’enfance
  • Les retours directs des demandeurs d’asile à la frontière entre les États-Unis et le Canada

The Conference will be held in English, but we will be offering simultaneous French interpretation.

La conférence se tiendra en anglais, mais nous proposerons l’interprétation simultanée en français.

REGISTRATION FEES/Frais d’inscription:

$20 for CARL Members/$40 for Non-Members

20$ pour les membres de l’ACAADR/40$ pour les non-membres

*Please note that membership in CARL is free for students

Veuillez noter que l’inscription à ACAADR est gratuite pour les étudiants.

Should you need assistance with the fees, please contact membership@carl-acaadr.ca. Si vous avez besoin d’aide avec les frais, veuillez écrire à membership@carl-acaadr.ca.

Webcast

12:15PM-4:30PM EDT/HAE – 9:15 AM-1:30PM PDT/HAP

**Note Pre-Conference session on the IRCC Refugee portal beings at 12:15 PM (EDT) / 9:15 AM (PDT). The main conference will begin at 1 PM (EDT) / 10 AM (PDT)

**CONFERENCE REGISTRATON IS NOW AVAILABLE HERE.**

– CONFERENCE AGENDA-

Time Description Speakers
12:15 – 12:50 (EST)
9:15 – 9:50 (PST)
Pre-Conference Session on the IRCC Refugee Protection Portal Adam Sadinsky, Sarah Boyd
Anthony Navaneelan (moderator)
1:00pm-1:15pm (EST)
10:00am-10:15am (PST)
Introductory Remarks Aviva Basman, Anthony Navaneelan
1:15pm-1:35pm (EST)
10:15m-10:35am (PST)
Keynote Address The Honourable Justice Lobat Sadrehashemi
1:35pm-2:10pm (EST)
10:35am-11:10am (PST)
Refugee Claimants and the US-Canada Border: Direct Backs, National Interest Exemptions and More Kate Webster
2:10pm-2:45pm (EST)
11:10am-11:45am (PST)
Where removal proceedings and refugee law meet family and child protection law Cheryl Robinson
2:45pm-3:00pm (EST)
11:45am-12:00pm (PST)
Annual General Meeting and CARLA award Aviva Basman, Anthony Navaneelan
3:00pm-3:15pm (EST)
12:00pm-12:15pm (PST)
Break
3:15pm-3:25pm (EST)
12:15pm-12:25pm (PST)
Update from CARL Student Chapters National Student Coordinators
3:25pm-4:25pm (EST)
12:25pm – 1:25pm (PST)
A Practitioner’s Guide to the Mandatory-Hearing PRRA Process Stéphanie Valois, Sarah Boyd & Pia Zambelli
Laila Demirdache (moderator)
4:25pm-4:30pm (EST)
1:25pm-1:30pm (PST)
Closing Remarks Anthony Navaneelan
Time Description Orateurs
12:15 – 12:50 (EST)

9:15 – 9:50 (PST)

Séance pré-conférence sur le portail de la protection des réfugiés IRCC Adam Sadinsky, Sarah Boyd

Anthony Navaneelan (mod)

1:00pm-1:15pm (EST)

10:00am-10:15am (PST)

Remarques Introductive Aviva Basman

Anthony Navaneelan

1:15pm-1:35pm (EST)

10:15m-10:35am (PST)

Discours Liminaire L’honorable juge Lobat Sadrehashemi
1:35pm-2:10pm (EST)

10:35am-11:10am (PST)

Retours directs des demandeurs d’asile à la frontière Canado-Américaine Kate Webster
2:10pm-2:45pm (EST)

11:10am-11:45am (PST)

Lorsque les procédures de renvoi et le droit des réfugiés rencontrent le droit de la famille et de la protection de l’enfance Cheryl Robinson
2:45pm-3:00pm (EST)

11:45am-12:00pm (PST)

Assemblée générale annuelle et prix CARLA Aviva Basman Aviva Basman

Anthony Navaneelan

3:00pm-3:15pm (EST)

12:00pm-12:15pm (PST)

Pause
3:15pm-3:25pm (EST)

12:15pm-12:25pm (PST)

Mise à jour des coordonnateurs étudiants nationaux des sections étudiantes de l’ABRC Coordonateurs des étudiants étrangers
3:25pm-4:25pm (EST)

12:25pm – 1:25pm (PST)

Guide du praticien sur le processus d’ERAR d’audience obligatoire Stéphanie Valois, Sarah Boyd et Pia Zambelli

Laila Demirdache (mod)

4:25pm-4:30pm (EST)

1:25pm-1:30pm (PST)

Remarques de clôture Anthony Navaneelan

Should you need assistance with the fees, please contact membership@carl-acaadr.ca. Si vous avez besoin d’aide avec les frais, veuillez écrire à membership@carl-acaadr.ca.

CPD ACCREDITATION / Accréditation professionnelle :

Ontario : To be determined/À déterminer

Colombie-Britannique : To be determined/À déterminer

Québec : To be determined/À déterminer

PAYMENT / paiement :

Payment can be made by credit card. If you have any questions or concerns please email membership@carl-acaadr.ca.

Le paiement peut s’effectuer en ligne par carte de crédit. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, svp envoyez un courriel a membership@carl-acaadr.ca.

NOT SURE OF YOUR MEMBERSHIP PASSWORD OR IF YOU’RE STILL A CARL MEMBER? / Vous n’êtes pas certain de votre mot de passe de membre ou si vous êtes toujours membre ?

In order to qualify for your membership discount, please register using the email you had provided upon joining CARL. Should you not recall your membership password, please click on the ‘forgot your password‘ link and input your email address when prompted. You will be emailed a new password within a couple hours. If our registration software is not recognizing that you are a current member, please contact membership@carl-acaadr.ca.

If you are unsure whether your membership has lapsed, please contact membership@carl-acaadr.ca to receive details about your membership status.

Afin de bénéficier du rabais offert aux membres, veuillez vous enregistrer avec le courriel fourni lorsque vous vous êtes joint ACAADR. SI vous avez oublié votre mot de passé, veuillez cliquer sur le lien “mot de passé oublié” et indiquer votre adresse courriel tel que demandé. Vous recevrez un courriel contenant un nouveau mot de passé en l’espace de quelques heures. Si notre logiciel d’enregistrement ne reconnait pas que vous êtes un member actuel, veuillez contacter membership@carl-acaadr.ca

Si vous ignorez si votre adhésion est expirée, veuillez contacter membership@carl-acaard.ca pour recevoir les détails relatifs au statut de votre adhésion.

REQUEST TO FEDERAL GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES / Demande aux employés du gouvernement :

Given the nature of material to be discussed, we respectfully ask that government employees not attend this conference. We are, however, pleased to make Justice Sadrehashemi’s keynote address available to you upon request.

En raison de la nature des sujets discutés, nous demandons respectueusement aux employés du gouvernement de ne pas assister à cette conférence. Nous sommes toutefois ravis de mettre à votre disposition et, sur demande le discours d’ouverture de l’honorable juge Sadrehashemi.

QUESTIONS:

Please contact membership@carl-acaadr.ca.

Veuillez communiquer avec membership@carl-acaadr.ca.

NOTICE OF AGM: In addition to the panels of speakers, CARL will also be hosting a brief Annual General Meeting (AGM) of its members during the half-day conference. One of the most important tasks of the AGM is to consider nominations for new members to CARL’s National Executive and renewals for existing members whose terms have come to an end. Please see the formal nomination notice attached. If you are interested in nominating someone for CARL’s Executive please submit your nomination in accordance with the attached notice by Wednesday, October 20.

Closer to the date of the AGM, we will also be circulating additional documents for the membership to review and approve of at the meeting, including CARL’s annual financial report. If you wish to attend the AGM only and do not wish to register for the conference, please email us at: info@carl-acaadr.ca

AVIS D’AGA : En plus des panels des conférenciers, l’ACAADR tiendra également une brève assemblée générale annuelle (AGA) de ses membres pendant la demi-journée de conférence. L’une des tâches les plus importantes de l’AGA consiste à examiner les candidatures pour les nouveaux membres du conseil d’administration national de l’ACAADR et les renouvellements pour les membres existants dont le mandat est arrivé à terme.Veuillez consulter l’avis officiel de mise en candidature ci-joint. Si vous souhaitez proposer la candidature d’une personne au conseil d’administration de l’ACAADR, veuillez soumettre la candidature conformément à l’avis ci-joint avant le mercredi 20 octobre.

Plus près de la date de l’AGA, nous ferons également circuler d’autres documents que les membres pourront examiner et approuver à la réunion, notamment le rapport financier annuel de l’ACAADR. Si vous souhaitez assister uniquement à l’AGA et ne pas vous inscrire au congrès, veuillez nous envoyer un courriel à l’adresse suivante : info@carl-acaadr.ca.